Kronos Quartet

Kronos Quartet is a highly acclaimed and influential musical ensemble known for their groundbreaking contributions to contemporary classical music. Formed in 1973, the quartet has consistently pushed the boundaries of traditional chamber music, collaborating with a diverse range of artists and exploring various genres and styles.

The group consists of violinists David Harrington and John Sherba, violist Hank Dutt, and cellist Sunny Yang. Kronos Quartet gained recognition early in their career for their innovative interpretations of classical repertoire, but soon expanded their horizons by commissioning and performing works by living composers from around the world.

Their distinctive style blends classical, jazz, rock, folk, and world music elements seamlessly, creating a unique sonic experience that resonates with audiences worldwide. Kronos Quartet's commitment to artistic excellence has earned them numerous awards and accolades throughout their illustrious career. They have received multiple Grammy nominations and have won four Grammy Awards for their albums "Pieces of Africa" (1992), "Altaïr: Kronos Quartet" (1994), "Caravan" (2000), and "Different Trains/Electric Counterpoint" (2005).

In addition to their extensive discography, Kronos Quartet has collaborated with an impressive array of musicians from various genres including Philip Glass, Terry Riley, Steve Reich, Laurie Anderson, Björk, Nine Inch Nails, and many others.


Music Preview Unavailable
We respect your privacy preferences. To enable music previews through Spotify, please consent to the use of third-party functional cookies. Learn more in our Privacy Policy & the Spotify Cookies Policy.

Concert Schedule

Concert Date Venue City




0 / 1000 Please log in to leave a comment.